Georgia NeSmith
2 min readNov 21, 2021

--

A very enjoyable article.

I, like many others, thought at first that this would be an exposition by one of the crazies. Then I thought it might be about paintings being faked by copyists (you know it happens). Then I found that there are legitimate paintings containing images that, seen thru a modern eye look like modern cell phones. Quite amusing.

Me, I mostly approach claims like that with a very skeptical eye well-trained in logic and reason. A Phd from a estigious department of a top Midwestern university should suffice as proof enough.

To that I can add being selected to receive my department’s annual award (including a nice check) as "Best Doctoral Student in Research" in 1987, the third spring after I arrived in January 1984. AND, both prior and subsequently, I spent a rather large number of years trying to teach writing students (frosh to senior) about logical fallacies.

At one point I even taught a few sections of a course in writing for biology.

(NOTE: apologies for all that bragging. Just trying to establish my credentials.)

Nonetheless, as a devotee of the 18th- early 19th century poet/artist William Blake....

(big cut here)

.... Like Blake, I believe that Rationality, in its most extreme form, can overrule all concepts of morality., ultimately becoming amoral.

(MORE ELSEWHERE)

**********

In order to avoid hijacking your page with the rest of my already too long "treatise," I will be posting the full text on my own page. I hope that will be today,, 11/21/2021. Title and draft still in process.

Or you may be interested in my quirky piece published April 4, 2020: My Creation Story: from Big Bang to Chaos Theory [a Flight of Fancy].

It's a light-hearted mix (kinda sorta) of Genesis and a probably inaccurate grasp of chaos theory, drawn from James Gleick’s 1987 Chaos: Making a New Science.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.