Georgia NeSmith
2 min readAug 29, 2022

--

As a boomer myself who wishes the loan forgiveness was GREATER, and knowing that all my boomer friends feel the same way, are you sure it's BOOMERS you are talking about?

I am 74 years old. Born in 1948, an early boomer. That generation ended with 1964. So the youngest boomers would be 58 years old.

So tell us, what ages are you talking about? You aren't specifying the ages of the people you have identified as "boomers." Somehow I get the feeling that you're just talking about people older than you who are complaining rather than actual boomers.

On student loans, Boomers actually got a great deal. They got their loans when tuition and fees were minuscule compared to what they are now. And at substantially lower interst rates. Interest rates didn't really skyrocket until Reagan. And even then, tuition and fees were relatively low.

I got my education -- BA and MA thru CA public universities. Never had to borrow a single buck for any of those years. Then Reagan became governor, then president, and all hell broke loose in the financial markets.

Used to be a limit on interest rates, with the highest being credit card rates, capped at 18% (which is still too much, but it's better than the 25% you get now thx to the deregulation of financial markets).

So yeah, gen x on down has gotten a really raw deal, period, whether it's student loans or credit cards. AND you all have had to borrow more because tuitions have skyrocketed.

You take your own family members as representative--without specifying their ages. But my suspicion is that they aren't actually boomers. Boomers pretty much got a decent deal with interest rates as well as tuition.

I could be wrong. Please correct me if I am wrong.

My generation had it easy in terms of college education & costs. Well, the WHITE portion of my generation got a good deal.

What's more, we had multiple avenues toward loan forgiveness, such as teaching in poor inner city neighborhoods, or in rural communities that had a hard time getting qualified teachers.. We had VISTA/Americorps and the Peace Corps with a certain number of years of commitment paying off loans.

I know there are other programs still operating, but perhaps they weren't communicated to you and your cohorts. I believe there are still opportunities to teach on the Native American reservations, with loan forgiveness accompanying it. I rather suspect, however, that those have been reduced significantly.

I think it's terrible that you all have had to go into such serious debt just to get a basic college education, and especially at exorbitant interest rates.

Regardless, please do not take your own family members as representative of boomers. Many of us boomers actually have children and grandchildren who have had to sell their souls to get an education.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.