“Children of the Bomb”: shared commentary on growing up in the shadow of nuclear bomb developments in one’s own “neighborhood”

Georgia NeSmith
4 min readJan 1, 2022

--

A REPLY TO REBECCA ROMANELLI

REBECCA, I must have missed your comment somehow when you first posted it a month ago. This is my reply, which I hope will be informative for others interested in this topic

READERS: PLEASE SEE SEQUENCE AT THE END HERE FOR DISCUSSION CONTEXT & INSPIRATION FOR THIS ARTICLE.

I actually came across a couple of other “bomb babies” many years ago when I was first diagnosed with fibromyalgia (1992, age 45) and we participated on the old FIBRO-L (sp ?) listserv, which is what we had before the internet was opened up to commercial use. The ‘Net originally served only military and university research institutions. My Fibro correspondent’s dad was in maintenance while my dad worked with Oppenheimer as a physicist.

Yes, I did watch the Manhattan Project series, and I was seriously disappointed when it was discontinued after … was it two seasons? They said its viewership was too…

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.