Photo by Laszlo Kiss on Unsplash

Complicating Minimalism

It’s not as simple as you think!

Georgia NeSmith
2 min readJun 4, 2022

--

In response to Charlie Brown:

I find Charlie Brown’s interpretation of minimalism in the essay, “Minimalism is a Feminist Issue” quite interesting…and conflicting.

Interesting interpretation. But I am the “odd woman out,” as the last thing I am is someone who puts great value on the order of my home. But also, I don’t see any of that as a cause of such things as depression, but rather one of the results of being depressed. Aside from seeming more rational to me, it is absolutely and unequivocally supported by personal experience. Having too much stuff lying around in a disorderly fashion is a reflection of my depression, rather than a cause.

It’s hard for me to imagine that those assertions could even be conceivably true. Plus Brown mentions several things as if they were separate causes rather than integral.

Example: procrastination usually happens as a result of depression or anxiety, specifically depression arising from anxiety over one’s ability to perform the necessary task, or…

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.