Georgia NeSmith
1 min readAug 24, 2021

--

Damn. You and I have so much in common it is spookiy. I've not been a "peer counselor," but my experiences with the world of mental health treatments and my long years keeping a journal that more than anything else was responsible for my "recovery" (such as it is). I can't put a past tense on that because when you've been through what you and I have been through, there is never an ending. But I do know how to cope with it when I fall down again.

You absolutely must become acquainted with the work of Donna Jackson Nakazawa, particularly her book

Childhood DisruptedHow Your Biography Becomes Your Biology And How You Can Heal.

https://donnajacksonnakazawa.com/childhood-disrupted/

She defines "childhood trauma" quite aside from the common (all too common) experience of childhood physical / sexual abuse. The book also includes several chapters on how to heal, so it goes well beyond the usual.

She also has three workshops online involving "writing to heal."

https://donna-jackson-nakazawa.mykajabi.com/store

Something tells me you will find your answers there.

I'm going to take one of them if we ever get another COVID recovery payment.

Check it out!

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.