DEAR MEDIUM: You just keep pushing people like me away

Georgia NeSmith
14 min readAug 8, 2021
Photo by Debbie Hudson at Unsplash.com

So…Medium has seen the competition’s writing on the wall and now expects to draw more quality writing to its site by offering highly paid contests for writers. Offering amounts of money that far exceed anything offered by any “normal” publication contest ANYWHERE.

I mean, 50K is bigger than most 6–12 month long writers’ residencies where winners must produce new work, teach classes and workshops, and do public readings. Check out the list of cash prizes offered by these print and digital literary magazines for creative non-fiction acording to Poets & Writers Magazine (use drop down “genre” menu to select “creative non-fiction).

Do you have any idea how many of these prizes could be funded by Medium’s single cash prize of $50K?

I don’t know about you, but $50K is more than THREE TIMES a year’s income for me from Social Security and retirement.

But beyond that insanity, I’d be happy if Medium would just curate my work now and then. I’ve been publishing on Medium for three years and NOT A SINGLE ONE of my articles has been curated. (Three years on Medium, 18 months of that in Partnership program.)

Whatever Medium’s curators may think, I know I produce quality work andhave for nearly 50 years as an adult. I have two degrees, a BA (1974) and MA (1976) in…

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.