Georgia NeSmith
1 min readAug 18, 2021

--

Except if not one of your articles is curated by Medium over 18 months and you get only $23 for your pieces that attract substantial numbers of outside readers, and you have WORKED YOUR FCKING ASS OFF, and happen to start out with 30 years of experience TEACHING writing, not to mention a mountain of other credentials, and you keep trying and keep trying while suffering debilitating health issues (like a stroke as well as multiple chronic pain/fatigue conditions)....

You tend to get seriously pissed off at Medium.

Every time I read one of these articles that tells us all how great the new pay program is for writers who work hard I want to scream bloody murder.

I'd be happy if Medium had promoted just a few of my 60+ articles. I know you can't win them all. BUT NOT A SINGLE ONE? (Editing out curse words.)

There's something rotten in Denmark (she says, using a saying from Hamlet). And I keep encountering others in similar circumstances but who aren't brave enough to be vocal about it. I kept quiet, no complaints, for 18 months but I am mad as hell now. And I'm not going to take it any more.

If you look at my "stories" and responses lists you will find more of what I've written on this subject.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.