Georgia NeSmith
1 min readJan 10, 2022

--

Except some people like myself -- perfectly good writers who could teach almost everyone here a thing or two about good writing -- never got curated.

I have never been able to figure out why. I know the quality of my writing is good. It better be, with me coming out of more than 30 years reading, writing and teaching writing in a highly educated (PhD) way.

I don't say this to brag. I say it as a recognized fact based on decades of people who are qualified to assess writing doing so in my favor.

When you've been writing and teaching writing as long as I have, cutely denying any form of significant expertise becomes an obvious ploy to get others so say, "Oh, but you are so good!" yada yada.

I truly have no idea why the gods of writing at Medium having looked down on me as unworthy of curation. And I've stopped caring.

I say this only to point out Medium's organizational and fundational assumptions (whatever they may be) are full of ugly holes.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.