Georgia NeSmith
1 min readAug 26, 2021

--

From your headline I entered this piece with the rare full intent of arguing with you for a change, (smiley, winkie winkie).

But upon reading I realized our differences were over defining "work," which you define as paid, while I define it as any form of regular activity performed with intent, whatever the intent may be.

It could be the intent of making money. Or it could be with intent of doing something of value to others that takes a lot of time, essentially taking over our lives, requiring strenght, energy, and devotion toward producing something of value, whether or not we get paid for it.

Most jobs can involve a little of both, though as you say, most of them, depending on circumstances, tend more toward making money than toward making meaning.

I had to come to terms with not being able to do work of the sort that would earn me a living following the disastrous physical and emotional impact of long term PTSD.

I've been on disability since 1994, the very same year my PhD became official.

Once again you have inspired me to write something. This time I'll save it for my own page!

;-) ;-) ;-) ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ ;-) ;-) ;-)

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.