Georgia NeSmith
1 min readAug 30, 2021

--

Have you noticed whether Medium has continued to promote your work thrugh what used to be called "curation"? (I guess it's "distribution" now.)

I've been on Medium for three years. Not a single story of mine has ever been curated. And it's highly doubtful that mine are of so little interest and quality that every single one of them would be passed by.

It occured to me that, in order to build up the funds for those big prizes, they have done whatever they could to keep the view numbers down for most of us. Maybe through rewriting the algorithms. And/or curating fewer stories.

Those massive prizes were absurd. Writing contests, except maybe through a huge, internationally renowned publication like the NYT or WaPo, are RARELY anywhere near that high.

I didn't bother to compete. Given Medium's track record with me I know I could put weeks into writing one of those stories and most likely the piece wouldn't even be looked at by anyone at Medium.

People's views and reads by members WOULD NOT LIKELY drop precipitously like that unless there were something like the above going on.

Frankly, Medium has begun to leave a very bad taste in my mouth.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.