Georgia NeSmith
1 min readApr 20, 2020

--

Hi Dana. Thanks for appreciating this article with claps as well as your response. I got more attention to my first version, [35 claps, 119 views] written before COVID19 and the lockdown. It is a lot shorter. I think a lot of people don’t like to read long articles, especially about sad things.

I’ve put the original down as “unlisted” so it won’t be mixed up with the newer addition, which offers suggestions impossible for us to carry out during lockdown…hence the revision. But it’s still there [link above].

As a PTSD survivor, you may also be interested in this one on what I call OTSD [Ongoing Traumatic Stress Disorder]. It is VERY long but I’m applying it to both personal/individual trauma and systemic trauma [for which there is no “post”] and covering a range of subtopics. It is my most popular article [663 views, 51 claps]. I am in the process of editing it so you may want to wait until this afternoon to check it out [I am writing at 10:45 AM CDT].

In the OTSD piece I discuss the differences between individual oppression [e.g., by family members forever misreading you per some framework of interpretation they dreamed up when we were children — a problem characteristic of the lives of PTSD survivors] and systemic oppression [e.g., racism, misogyny, ableism, etc.] where we are misread by frameworks provided within social categories.

I’ll be checking your work out soon…

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.