Georgia NeSmith
2 min readMay 29, 2022

--

Honestly? No. The thought has never occurred to me.

Thing is, I don't connect my identity to my skin color nor the social/political/cultural definition of Whiteness in any emotional way.

Yes, I know that anyone looking at me, regardless of their politics, would identify me as White. Hard not to given my mostly Scots/Irish genetic heritage evident in my rather pale skin and once-upon-a-time reddish hair.

Yes, I know I enjoy all the cultural privileges of being white and having grown up middle class. With a PhD no less! I will never try to pretend that I don't.

Even though I no longer enjoy a middle class income and depend to some extent on "government assistance" due to disabilities that made it impossible for me to manage full time employment in the academic field for which I spent a decade studying and writing.

Looking back, of course, I realize that the extensive time I took is connected to my ADHD and my PTSD. Which ultimately contributed to a number of disabling chronic conitions.

But my economic status does not inform my social position because strangers I meet have no inkling of it, and friends don't give a damn.

Also: I am proud aunt to two mixed race adults--children of my also obviously very white sister (her hair is even blond!). My nephew has a daughter who is even more mixed race/ethnicity, adding in her mother's Latina/black/Native American identities.

Frankly, lately I've become rather bored with white faces and bodies. Really, I LOVE diversity. Too much sameness is...well...BORING.

Unfortunately, I'm too old to be around when the American population consists of a majority of mixed race people. All that gorgeous brownness!

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.