Georgia NeSmith
2 min readApr 24, 2021

--

I am equally frustrated with Medium. I didn't have many readers to begin with, and now I have fewer. I have the same # but I have fewer I hear from because links to their works don't show up.

I don't understand why we can't mark the people we follow who are of most interest to us, and then they can add a few people writing on our topics of interest -- which we ALREADY specify -- with whom we have not yet connected.

As I understand it, the biggest result of the current changes is that PEOPLE ARE BEING PAID A WHOLE LOT LESS THAN THEY WERE.

So to me, that smacks of serious greed. It means that Medium gets to keep more of members' money, while they keep getting content that's nearly FREE to them.

I have similar problems with FB. It's not a paying medium, of course, but we keep getting the same people all the time because those are the ones we interact with.

Catch 22, 23, & 24...

But those we interact with are those who appear on our page thanks to their flipping algorithms. I love the people I get, but I would like to hear from other friends. I see only maybe 10 people each day with dozens of posts from them, and nothing from anyone else. Not because I don't want to hear from them but because I can't go paging through my nearly 600 friends all the time.

I have one friend I adore but he will post 20-50 links a day, and I GET THEM ALL. I don't know why we can't tell them what we want rather than them determining it by an algorithm that does not, in fact, reveal who those people ARE!

Algorithms are adjustable to give people what they want. But none of these sites ACTUALLY has readers' interests at heart, or they wouldn't design them to be this way.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.