Georgia NeSmith
2 min readDec 23, 2021

--

I am low income, disabled, and a senior, but I am lucky to have access to Instacart because I can no longer drive thanks to a stroke I had 18 months ago. I even sold my old (1998) Honda Civic for 1/4 of what I bought it for in...2010 (i.e., 22 years old). Got a whole $1K out of it (from my mechanic, no less). But that has made many things very difficult for me because my small town, tho it be right next to a very big one, has no bus service at all. Cab companies charge a whole $35 just to come out to my town, and the fare is on top of that. Well...anyway...

I am wondering -- is there no local farmers' market in your area? You say its rural, but I know in MI that doesn't necessarily mean farm country. And of course it would have to be centralized so people would still have to drive, tho possibly they could also arrange car pools.

This isn't a criticism...just a rambling thru solutions that pop into my head but may not be feasible because I hardly know anything at all about your area.

"These are the times that try men's (and women's) souls." (Thomas Jefferson).

Contemporary American culture has people forgetting what made survival possible before we had so many conveniences that we could fill up our larders just by going to a shopping center. We need to find our way back to the community orientation & helpfulness families had toward one another when they depended on one another to survive.

Just some thoughts. Like I say, not criticism.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.