Georgia NeSmith
1 min readMay 5, 2022

--

I couldn't understand how this could have been allowed to happen. And then I saw that the lead organizer, the only black person taking part in the organizing, is a Republican.

Leave it to a Republican (even if a black Republican) to do something like that.

I don't call the Party Republican anymore. They don't deserve the title, and certainly don't live it. Once upon a time the GOP was a respectable party even if I didn't agree with most of it. But it still had a "liberal" wing that supported the ERA and civil rights.

They are long gone now. Either joined the Democrats or became Independents...or died.

My name for those who call themselves Republican is the "Radical Right Wing Party."

We have to name them for what they are. I don't know about the organizer's daily politics, so maybe I'm doing guilt by association. But the party as a whole left the Age of Reason quite a while ago.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.