Georgia NeSmith
1 min readAug 8, 2020

--

I gave up diet soda almost 20 years ago when a friend of mine noticed the big bag of empty cans on my back stairs landing. It was all empty diet soda cans. He told me about his naturopathic doctor who advised him strongly against diet soda because of its many harmful effects on the body. Among those is insomnia.

I suffered the worst case of insomnia for years before that moment. At best I was getting maybe 2 hours of sleep a night. if I was lucky I’d wake up and after a while I’d be able to go back to sleep for another hour or so.

This had a permanent effect on my then middle-aged body. Indeed the lack of sleep had been destroying my body bit by bit to the point that I was permanently disabled with massive chronic pain.

Lack of sleep breaks your muscles down, not to mention what it does to your brain cells. So I took his advice and went cold turkey. Within a month I was sleeping better than I had slept in years. No, decades.

I can’t believe how so many hospitals give diabetic patients diet soda as if that would help keep their blood sugars down. It doesn’t.

Aspartame is one of the most damaging inventions of the modern era. It should have been outlawed long ago.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.