Georgia NeSmith
2 min readDec 23, 2021

--

I have gotten so many of my posts deleted post hoc that I don't know they've been deleted until I go thru my latest "FB Memories" and half or more of them have been deleted as not conforming to FB community rules.

This hasn't been LBGTQ stuff (well, maybe some of it has been...because I come across these so late I can't find out what the post said). But anyway, I am a rather vociferous critic of trump and the trump monsters and all the ideological (i.e., fact-free) lies that they promote, so I rather expect that's the primary basis for the deletions. Fortunately I downloaded at least the first three-four years of stuff before they started this "crackdown."

On the Christian stuff: you are exactly right: the right wing/evangelical Christian folks have become crusaders against the expression of views contradicting their own very narrow ideas about God, Jesus, and the Bible. And that's unfortunate. I am no longer Christian myself (has more to do with the study of religion than wholesale antipathy toward it. However, I know a lot of people who identify as Christian who interpret the Bible as calling them toward Love.

Unfortunately, one of the good things about them is they don't go around proselytizing but rather doing good works along the lines about which Jesus spoke. And so, though I'm pretty certain they amount to at least 40-50% of US Christians or more, they aren't in the media much because they don't offer the prize news value of "Conflict," and they don't make a big play for news coverage.

They would be among the crowds standing up for human rights including LGBTQ. But they won't be wearing crosses nor carrying signs that blather about their religious faith. They don't see themselves as somehow better than folks who are not Christians and they stay away from language that would imply that.

The radically right wing Christians have done more to turn people away from Christianity than pretty much any other force.

So the statement "Christians are the worst" makes perfect sense to me even though I have a more nuanced understanding of the faith and its peoples than most folks, and frankly see the r-wingers as truly ANTI-Christian. The politically active Jesus would be throwing them all from the temple.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.