Georgia NeSmith
1 min readJun 8, 2022

--

I make clear to whom I am referring by adding "formerly known as GOP" at the end. Perhaps I should have made that clear.

That's not even the full title, however, Where it seems appropriate I add:

Radical Right Wing White Supremacist Party (formerly known as GOP)

Where space is a premium I just say GOP but about 95% of my references use the full title above.

I suggest this because they need to be named up front for what they are. They do not have the right to call themselves Republicans. There used to be a few good people in that party, but they were "run off the road" by the radicals who also are white supremacists.

For instance, the 1972, '74, 76 and 1980 GOP party platform pushed full support for the Equal Rights Amendment...tho it was watered down in 1984 and disappeared in 1988.

Similar support is given for racial equality and respect for the 1964 Civil Rights Act.

But that support wains toward the end of Reagan's 2nd term.

They haven't always been 100% total political rectal sphincters. Now there is no redeeming them. PERIOD.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.