Georgia NeSmith
1 min readJul 10, 2020

--

I remember reading this story after it first came out. It holds even more poignance and pent up emotion for me now than it did then...and it was a heartbreaker THEN.

George Floyd's death on camera has changed at least the way that many more white people are seeing events like these. One of these days I hope to see a statue/memorial dedicated to George. Perhaps replacing a confederate general or some other racist "hero."

Nothing will be the same again. Will be a long time before what is needed is achieved, and I'm not going to be around that long, unfortunately. [I'm 71...and recovering from a stroke.]

But that change WILL come.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.