Georgia NeSmith
1 min readFeb 9, 2022

--

I see you are being trashed by a whole lot of people who simply have no idea what it means to be an editor.

An editor EDITS. Gee, what a concept.

I've been an editor for two different scholarly publications. The review process is far more complex than for general publications, but this gives you an idea of the extent to which authors need to concede to the editors' superior knowledge and also the editors' expectations. The publication belongs to the publisher -- in the case of Medium pieces, the publisher and editor are usually the same person.

The rest of my points here are extensive and a bit complicated, so I will place the remainder on my own page.

These are the responses we would give to those who submitted to us: (continued)

https://a-room-of-my-own.medium.com/dear-authors-editors-have-final-say-whether-you-like-it-or-not-c2f247b8b8cd

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.