Georgia NeSmith
1 min readFeb 10, 2020

--

I think I have miscommunicated.

A “Black Medium” does exist, just not formally. It’s all the wonderful black authors I have encountered as I have been working on Medium. You don’t have to use Medium in the title…tho, to tell you the truth, I can’t see how they can trademark such a common word.

I mean, a medium is a medium thru which people acquire information!

And I can’t see how they would be bothered by either a webliography on all those authors, nor a review of them with samples. FFS, it would drive readers…and MORE WRITERS to Medium. It would be great advertising for them, especially if you promote the piece thru other social media.

There is a “formal” [of sorts] #BlackTwitter because it is identified by the hashtag. It’s not something that exists as something different from Twitter, it’s just a way to find all the people participating.

Here’s a thought…find some great people doing #blackTwitter, do a webliography on them with some profiles, then ask Medium if they’d be ok with you doing something similar.

I bet they’d jump at it.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.