Georgia NeSmith
2 min readMay 5, 2022

--

II want to laugh and then I want to scream about this presumed "post-racial" society.

I lived in predominantly black neighborhoods in Rochester NY for 20 years, 1990-2010. By choice, btw.

And based on what I've seen as I keep in touch with friends back there on social media, NOTHING real has changed. Some things have even gotten worse thanks to our former Racist-in-Chief Donald Trump and his racist bunch of MAGAts.

The very idea that having a black president = post-racial society leaves me gob-smacked. Never mind how he had to cater to the white power structure in order to get anything accomplished, and mostly he was blocked by a racist Congress and Senate. And goddess help us we could be going back there again.

Both Obama and Kamala Harris have to be Black-light in order to keep their status. I hear people complaining that Harris has done very little for black families...well, take a look at Congress and the Senate. Voters have to do more than merely take over the White House for 4 years. They have to deliver a legislature willing to do what needs to be done. Yes, that composition is due to racism, but yes also it is due to the GOP and its gerrymandering and efforts to delete black voters from the voting roster.

Frankly I'm scared of what is likely coming up--not just in this year's midterm, nor in the presidency in 2024. Once it turns back into GOP hands, I'm afraid that's going to be it as far as US democracy.And I am thankful I that at 73, I won't have to deal with it for long.

But I also have 5 grandkids & thus an investment in the future.

I am hanging my hopes for the future on the recent SCOTUS decision re: abortion. Not because I support it, but because there's nothing like bringing back the days of coat hanger abortions to galvanize white women and men into action to "throw the bums out." Give them something that negatively affects them directly & they are going to be out on the streets, organizing and campaigning.

Then there's prayer. And it's not a normal practice for me, not having much faith in it. It may not change anything but maybe it can get you through hard times.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.