Georgia NeSmith
2 min readSep 11, 2022

--

I'm sorry you interpreted my response that way. It was just a suggestion. I'm actually supporting you, just offering a different take.

I wish you would actually read the scholarship instead of bouncing off on some ageist viewpoint of what I said.

I gave my age and my disability as recognition that my knowledge here was derived some years ago and therefore was faulty. I'm sure there's been a lot of scholarship since then, which the search offers as proof.

I hear that you are very angry, and justifiably so.

Nonetheless, I do encourage you at some time in the future to check out that feminist scholarship. I did not suggest it as a viewpoint for you to take, but rather as merely an alternative for you to explore whether you accept it or not.

While I understand your anger, I do not understand why, given what I said, you have directed your anger at ME.

I do not deserve it. Not one little bit.

And frankly, your attitude toward women who've come before you...well, what can I say?

I have done absolutely nothing to deserve that. Just as you have done absolutely nothing to justify they way you have been treated within the dominant, patriarchal Jewish view.

That is another -ism that needs to be dumped by enlightened people. It does not honor the thoughtfulness of your essay, which I fully respect and enjoyed immensely.

Meanwhile...well, believe whatever bout me that you wish. Your anger has nothing to do with me. You may not get that for some time. If ever.

And that's ok with me.

One of the benefits of growing old is that you no longer have to feel victimized by people who have misunderstood you and have decided to hate you from the very moment you open your mouth on a subject dear to you.

Regardless, I offer best wishes on your recovery from the Judaism that dominated your life in a very negative way.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.