Georgia NeSmith
2 min readMay 29, 2022

--

Interesting interpretation. But it seems more rational (and frankly, absolutely supported by personal experience) that having too much stuff lying around in a disorderly fashion is a REFLECTION of depression, rather than a cause.

It's hard for me to imagine that your assertion here could even be conceivably true. Plus you mention several things as if they were separate causes rather than integral.

Example: procrastination usually happens as a RESULT of depression, specifically depression arising from anxiety over one's ability to perform the necessary task, or anxiety over the feelings associated with the actions to be taken that reference bad experiences (such as, for instance, constantly being yelled at for failing at "simple" tasks).

Then there's the gender issue. Quite to the contrary of your generalizations regarding gender, I tend to be messy.

1) The messes result from several causes: I am a creative person in many different areas.

2) Accompanying all that, I am ADHD. Combine the two and KABOOM!

3) Because of that ADHD, and now age as I head through my eighth decade of life, I find it terribly important to hang on to things that keep my memories alive.

BTW (you probably know this, but just in case): contrary to earlier beliefs about ADHD, the % of girls/women with ADHD is approximately the same as the % of boys/men with ADHD. It's just manifested differently.

This comment ended up being much too long for a mere reply. And still is, but, oh well...

So I am taking the whole thing over to my own page as a separate article. But I will leave this spot with this, hoping it tantalizes:

Frankly, I cannot bear the sight of a super clean and orderly living situation -- at least if it is my own. It gives me the heebie jeebies (she says, shivering with anxiety).

And reminds me of a mom who was exceedingly critical of me about everything, not just the mess in my room.

Link to full article to be added...

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.