Georgia NeSmith
2 min readSep 9, 2021

--

"Just" a little "quirk" of mine...disability is a serious and massive issue in inequalities, and I'm really tired of it not getting a direct mention instead of having a presence in a category called "and more."

When one belongs to additional inequality categories--e.g., tho I am white, I am also female; tho I am highly educated and middle class, I have been economically disadvantaged due to my disabilities for 25 years. Hell, I qualify not only for Medicare (which everyone gets at some point), but for Medicaid.

No question about it: My whiteness gives me lots of privileges--aside from the usual it's relatively easy for me to hide my povert, having always chosen "classic" clothing styles that remain in fashion almost permanently ... that is, until the restaurant check comes.

.I'm not here to play oppression Olympics, and truthfully compared to other folks I know, such as a very dear black, gay, female, aging disability activist (quintuple whammy) who way too often gets snubbed by ablebodied black activists (and white disability activists as well--who constantly challenge her for her focus on racism + disability ) it begins to leave me steaming mad.

We feel invisible to the vast majority of political activists who otherwise may be inclusive, but our existence rarely pops into their heads at all unless someone reminds them.Ironically, except for those who die young, the vast majority of human beings will experience some form (or several forms) of disabling conditions in the final decade or two of their lives.

I'm not pleading here for my specific challenges (somehow I manage--my PhD + whiteness enables me to navigate social services quite well).

I am pleading for people who must cope with being at the "back of the room" (if our existence is acknowledged at all) of nearly everyone's consciousness.

Just a gentle reminder. Thank you.

Best wishes.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.