Georgia NeSmith
1 min readAug 24, 2021

--

Kudos to you. But let's be clear.

Your kind of depression is not the same kind of depression as that experienced by the majority of people. We have CLINICAL depression, which is not something you can fix after crying a lot. Because it isn't necessarily situational, problem-oriented.

Moreover, some psych medications are also helpful for dealing with chronic pain issues. For instance, I was prescribed an old medication -- sorry, I can't find the name of it in my stroke damaged brain right now -- that was for depression, but a few weeks into it I found it was helping tremendously with my fibromyalgia / Sjogren's chronic pain conditions, to the point I was able to voluntarily cut my pain medication by 1/3.

Which turned out to be HUGE for me, because the campaign to cut opioid use now has me on 2/3 of what I used to have. Before that, I could decide when I needed more or less, and having control over that made it so much easier.

I understand being concerned about psych meds and they are not for everyone. I resisted for the longest time -- while having to deal with BOTH chronic pain AND depression. So finding one that helped me with both was a godsend.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.