Georgia NeSmith
2 min readNov 20, 2020

--

May I offer you a slight bit of correction? It's not online teaching per se that's the problem so much as it is the requirements for "accountability" put forward by your administration.

Having to deal with that kind of thing was one of my primary reasons for not teaching K-12 and to do college level instead. The bureaucracy required for "accountability" -- instead of trusting that the hiring process was strong enough to bring in people who could/would give top notch performance -- is mindboggling to me.

I am retired now. But for quite a while I did online teaching through the University of Maryland's extension program. I found many aspects of it BETTER than in person teaching. For example, the students who would normally sit quietly and not volunteer answers turned out to be quiet thinkers shy about speaking up in a normal class, but online where they weren't concerned about making a mistake in the presence of other students...where they had time to adjust their answers that they wouldn't have in public...why, those students shone brightly.

Having been one of those students all the way through my college years, I understood what that was about. It was not about not knowing the answers. Definitely NOT about not having "done my homework"--It was about being terrified of speaking in public because I would always flub it.

My compensation for that was that I nearly always got A's for my writing. It was the only place where I felt comfortable communicating with others without screwing up and being laughed at.

K-12 students do need personal, in-the-flesh interactions with teachers. But the problem getting that is not online teaching per se, but what the school is requiring of you so you can "document" what you've done. They can't exactly supervise your classes or come in and watch...oh. Wait. Yes they can. They can do it far more easily online than when they have to hop around to standard "bricks and boards" classrooms.

I don't want to tell you what to do because I don't know your circumstances. But my first gut response is...organize! That is always my response to "workers" complaints about "the bosses." In the background I'm hearing the union song, "Joe Hill." Which is very moving & inspiring...but I know there are often circumstances where that's not realistic. I wouldn't dream of suggesting what to do, but that is the first thing that comes to mind, having spent a good deal of my life being a rabblerouser.

"I dreamed I saw Joe Hill last night, alive as you and me...says I but Joe you're 10 years dead...I never died says he..."

Best wishes on your struggle. I'm so glad I don't have to deal with all that myself anymore. But I do miss the students...

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.