Georgia NeSmith
2 min readAug 28, 2021

--

May I suggest (and believe me, this is truly only a suggestion--just something to think about) that there are white women who have not been connected to the elite powers-that-be precisely because they occupy a liminal space where white women have many MANY strikes against them that keep them out of the positions of power occupied by the sort of middle/upper class positions that, tho less powerful than the white men in power, nonetheless reproduce the same white male values to which many of us absolutely REJECT?

I agree that what we see among most white women in current political positions isn't sufficiently different from middle class & up white men.

I'm not gonna do the "not all" thing. I know that's bogus because exceptions only prove the general rule from the perspective of people occupying lower rungs on the ladder (whatever sort of ladder that may be); it doesn't matter how many white persons may be different from the "standard" of those who do possess power.

An example: white women who have struggled with disabilities and the nearly universal poverty often accompanies adults with truly debilitating disabilities. Many are born into middle class white families and then lose much (tho not all) of that privilege in adulthood.

Now, I know without question that even disabilities that mark one as "other" doesn't necessarily yield the essential understanding of what happens when race is thrown into the mix. Without creating hierarchies here, I know full well that black women with serious disabilities still have many fewer privileges than white women with similar disabilities.

But there is something we all share: the extraordinarily painful experience of being INVISIBLE.

Now, I have to ask--just within the circle of racial identification as black, with gender idenfication as "woman" -- to what extent have you as an activist/writer given thought to the ways that being racialized and disabled at the same time might make someone's experiences with being black rather different (and in a few substantial ways, less privileged than your own?

Do not get me wrong. I am no way suggesting that disability can wipe out white privilege. But it CAN significantly reduce it.

Example: when I am able to exclude the signifiers of disability, my white privilege, on the surface at least, rises substantially. Tho my economic position can suddenly draw attention to the fact that I don't really fit among them. Still, I have the wit and education that often far exceeds that of my white able-bodied male opponents.

I've already drawn this out rather long and I don't want to distract from your argument here. This is just food for thought. Not a criticism. And believe me, my experience with able bodied white folks hasn't been all that pleasant. I have plenty of criticism for them as well. Only they often tend to get huffy and puffy and insulting in ways I've had yet to encounter on "the other side."

I'd just like to see more black activists give more attenion to and develop awareness of black disabled.

Best wishes...and solidarity.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.