Georgia NeSmith
Aug 25, 2021

--

My last name comes from Scotland, with variant spellings: Naysmith, Naysmythe, and Naismith, in addition to mine. There are also different lines of the original family based on whether the "S" is capitalized.

Apparently the original family were fairly low level aristocrats.

But they all go back to the same original family.You didn't ask, but yes, we are related to Michael Nesmith of Monkeys fame. About 3 generations back, I think. I once wrote a letter to him years ago after one of my brothers confirmed that through an ancestry search. Never heard back from him tho.

The biological connection is very clear to me from Mike Nesmith's eyes. They are exactly like my dad's and his brother's. Indeed, I swear that his brother's face is almost exactly like his.I have them, too, but a more feminine version.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.