My Creation Story: from Big Bang to Chaos Theory [a Flight of Fancy]*

Georgia NeSmith
8 min readApr 4, 2020
God is the Universe. The Universe is God. [Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash]

In the Beginning there was God. All was God. But God was all packed tight into an unimaginably massive chunk of matter, which in turn was also a massive flow of energy.

But God was not satisfied being a massive chunk of matter or an amorphous flowing of energy. Without any way of mirroring Godself, there was no way for God to know and understand Godself.

And God wished to know Godself.

And so, BANG! BOOM! KaBAM!!!! WHOOSH! KABLOOEY!!

Over eons in time (nanoseconds to God), all the pieces of God from the largest sun to the tiniest elements of an atom separated, spread out into the infinite massiveness that is the Universe, and got busy becoming, transforming, randomly and by accident.

And somehow in that randomness, organic existence came into being. And God said “oh wow! This is veddy EENTERESTING! This is a part of myself I never knew existed! I wonder what will happen if…” And then there was this experiment and that, that experiment and this; and sometimes God said: “I wonder what would happen if I just let things develop, if I just stood back and let all these pieces of me become whatever they might?” So there was randomness and plan; and plans that turned random, and randomness that turned into plan.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.