Georgia NeSmith
1 min readMay 22, 2022

--

OMG.

Funny thing. I have a biracial niece and nephew. My sister and her husband taught their kids what this woman would probably see as CRT--in a version as it could be taught in the 1970s-80s (that is, anti-racism!). They have since pursued their own interests in the issues.

When I lived in Rochester, NY ( quite a while back), my sister came to visit me and was excited that there was an "African American" bookstore in the neighborhood. (Note: I use quotes here because that was the popular phrase used in the '90s, but I generally use Black myself after my many years of exploring the issues.) We went to visit it so she could buy books for her then college age children.

If anything, that brought them closer.

When white parents of biracial children aren't afraid to stand up on behalf of the "darker side" of their children's parentage, it doesn't seem to be quite the issue it has apparently been for this woman.

I sincerely doubt the younger folk in this situation would have used it to support teen rebellion if the mom had been prepared to listen instead of do the knee-jerk rejection that would come naturally with a parent who refused to hear what their kids had to say.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.