Georgia NeSmith
1 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

So there are a whole lot of grammatical and word choice errors in this piece.

Guess what? I have a Phd in communications, MA in English, and tons of experience teaching writing courses. AND I MAKE MISTAKES ALSO. Which is why, despite finding numerous errors in the vast majority of articles on Medium--including those of truly great writers--I don't bother with corrections.

Because this isn't a class and none of the writers here are my students. And I am not an editor here. MY job is to pay attention to the content, listening through the mistakes in order to figure out what the author is trying to say.

Now, YOU. YOU haven't published a single article on Medium. But I betcha I would be able to find tons of errors in YOUR writing.

And you aren't even writing anything in the response boxes here -- just your corrections.

That makes you a pompous, irredeemable idiot who is terrified of being corrected themselves, and that is why you really publish only a-hole corrections instead of responding to ideas.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.