Thank you President Obama, for stepping into the leadership void*UPDATE and *REWRITE

Georgia NeSmith
9 min readMar 25, 2020

Obama logs on amid the coronavirus pandemic

Obama has stepped up his role in media and social media to offer the country the kind of leadership we need in these desperate times.

Dear President Barack Obama

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who begged you to step into the leadership void and lead us through this disaster. But I am pleased to see that you have done so regardless of whatever small part I may have played.

This pandemic is a war.*

I don’t think this metaphor is appropriate any more. Trump as the OrangeMan is now using war imagery to justify throwing up his hands. In trump’s mouth it’s all wrong. With his $my money first, last & ALWAYS$ attitude it sounds horrific instead of heroic…But I guess that fits with what war is really like.

I want to change this word to something that matches its intensity, its celebration of death, its infectious hopelessness…but that sometimes produces leaders of incredible courage, selflessness, and inspiration who can carry us through the darkest days. trump is not that leader.

We do have a few, but no one with the power to shut trump up. They will have to lead…

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.