Georgia NeSmith
1 min readAug 5, 2021

--

Thanks for the correction. ;-)

It's been a while (like several decades since she died), and I'm only 5 years younger than she would be if she had lived. And I've never had a good memory for lyrics or lyricists or even singers' names, Joplin being one of the few that is seared into my memory cells, many of which were recently killed by a stroke...

Ah well. At least I'm still alive, tho there was a good chance I wouldn't be had I not been on the phone with my doc about something else when it happened.

Now, I know there's some song about "luck" -- and this time she googles first, finding out that it's not "Mack the Knife" (another Joplin song, tho sung by many -- including Frank Sinatra -- before her)...and google can't find a Joplin song where luck takes a prominent spot, so I must be confusing it with "Luck Be A Lady" (another Sinatra song, but Joplin didn't sing it)...

Welcome to my ADHD brain, with difficulties magnified by that damn stroke.

So...I get excused. ;-)

BTW, note the quite logical ADHD jump here:

Ah well. At least I'm still alive, tho there was a good chance I wouldn't be had I not been on the phone with my doc about something else when it happened.

Now, I know there's some song about "luck..."

Are you laughing yet???

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.