Georgia NeSmith
2 min readAug 11, 2021

--

Well, I hope your rather Pollyanna view turns out to come to fruition. Really, I do.

I used to have that naive hope for the future back in my 30s - 50s. (1970s-90s).

At 73, after seeing some super bad people with tons of money and power take over this country (not to mention the world) and try to turn history back a few centuries I'm not holding my breath.

I suspect if you did kind of study I have done in the past 30 years, you'd know that's a pipe dream unless a whole lot more forward looking people, especially race conscious feminists (both women and men) do a hell of a lot more political activism, this country is on a long...soon to be explosive...path toward destruction of pretty much all our most important achievements.

You know many people...So do I.

You do understand, don't you, that assessments for the future based on sampling our friends, neighbors, and coworrkers is hardly anything resembling a statistically reliable predictor of the future.

We're going to lose it all unless and until enough people wise up and truly educate themselves (beyond surface journalism) about where this country and the world are headed. AND at the same time fight like hell toward a better future, we are going to hell in a handbasket.

Global warming has arrived. Anyone paying attention to the weather disruptions and catastreophes around the world knows that. Except for the deniers, of course--who are pretty much the same people not getting vaccinated against COVID.

It has come a whole lot sooner than scientists predicted. They are now shortening the time before it becomes catastrophic.

That and the massive and growing world-wide cabal of billionaires suck up everything they can get for themselves continues to take control over everything it can get its hands on.

I will continue to fight the good fight until my dying day, but it is quite disconcerting to encounter fairly intelligent people living in a fantasy world I have even less hope for the future.

I'm not against you wanting and hoping for what you imagine could be on the way. And that might be possible if it had not been for the rabid right wing turn of events. But knowing what's going on underneath and all around...sorry, I can't see it anywhere near the horizon.

And I see so many people living in total denial, as if all we've enjoyed during our lives can't be lost in an instant.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.