Georgia NeSmith
1 min readJan 4, 2022

--

Well, I'm not making money yet, but I really do enjoy writing on Quora. For every dumb question there are about 5 incredibly intelligent people writing great answers to the not-so-dumb questions.

One of the best ways to encounter the best writing is to connect up with groups on topics of interest to you.

BTW the liberal/left actually dominates...at least that's been my impression. But of course, like everywhere else, there are these algorithms that determines what gets shown to you.

But it's more than my impression. The right wing complains a lot about the domination of the site by anti-trump folks.

Indeed, I've found far more intelligent writing on Quora than on pretty much any other social media site. I enjoy it so much that I keep writing there (have been there since 2018) and posting answers without taking the time to check out how best to make money. I think it has something to do with focusing your writing on your own "page"/blog. Kind of like what you have on Medium.

Check me out and check my followers. I get 2500-400K readers per week. Far FAR ***FAR*** more than I get on Medium, which amounts at best to 10-50/week, nearly all of whom are not Medium members.

I gotta take some time to turn that readership into bucks. But I get to wrapped up in writing stuff for which I don't get paid (and I can't figure out why). There are, however, instructional sections there.

Reading those would be your best place to start, I think.

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.