Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Writings on Racism: Link Collection

Georgia NeSmith
4 min readMar 23, 2022

--

This is a collection of what I consider my current best writings on racism on Medium

These do NOT reflect a “typical liberal white woman’s” perspective on racism. Indeed, I don’t identify as liberal. Much of liberalism wears blinders regarding structural inequalities.*

Among other things, the writings here incorporate what I learned from my black female dissertation clients, all of whom submitted, defended, and passed examination of their dissertations with flying colors, and obtained their doctorates.

They will tell you that without my help, which included a lot of hand-holding and emotional support as well as my skills as an editor, that they could not have finished their degrees without me. They have said so themselves.

I committed myself to helping them say best what they wanted to say, backing it all up with references and other such requirements for academic writing, so they could be as persuasive as possible. AND, most importantly, to achieve the doctorates for which they had worked so hard.

I say that not so much to toot my own horn but rather to demonstrate that much of what I know about living black in a white world has come from my…

--

--

Georgia NeSmith

Retired professor, feminist, writer, photographer, activist, grandmother of 5, overall Wise Woman. Phd UIA School of Journalism & Mass Communication, 1994.